Just a Quick Thought

With the market taking a breather, has anyone jumped in and bought anything
this week? I picked up a few GE shares through dividend reinvesting, but I am going to wait it out until things shake out a bit. Does anyone feel now is the time, or is this the early beginning of the October effect?  The market is fickle in this regard. With the crisis in Syria and instability in Russia, along with the strong dollar resulting in US companies
being pressured, are any of you going to wait for a shakeout or start buying on the dip?

wpid-innovation-258932_1280.jpg

I think that I am going to wait a while before going in any further. Except for dividend reinvestments, I am going to wait until October plays out. I feel that the market has advanced tremendously with very little slowdown, and it might be due for a consolidation. If I am right, I may get in at a discount, but if I am wrong I might miss out on some of the gain. This might seem like trying to time the market, but I am fully invested except for a few bucks. Those few bucks are in reserve, and if the price is right, I might pull the trigger. I guess for me, it is more like wishful thinking than market timing.

Anyone made any purchases this week? Do you see weekness continuing into next month? What are you looking to purchase?

Keep cranking,

Robert the DividendDreamer

About dividenddreamer

Doing what I can to make the best of today and the most of tomorrow.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Just a Quick Thought

  1. I have no more capital to invest this month. Or else I would be buying more shares in RAVN, MLAB, KW, CLB, and/or MKL. But who knows, I bought a lot last month and am in the red. Oh wells. Can’t complain about lower prices! =D

    • Yeh, I am with you on that. I think we might be going lower, so I might hang on for a while before putting the fresh money to work. I don’t mind allowing the dividends to reinvest in current holdings, however. But, that may change as the positions become more and more out of balance.

      Keep cranking,

      Robert the DividendDreamer

  2. Hi Robert,

    I bought me some Seadrill (SDRL) this month as well as some short term bonds for stability.

    As we can’t time the market I just believe it’s best to spread the risk a little since the market is at an all-time high.

    Best regards,
    FRD

    • Sounds like a good idea. I want to get a little position in RIG and some KMI by next month. I am still on the fence with This month’s stocks, but I am favoring PM at the moment.

      I will give Seadrill a look.

      Keep cranking,

      Robert the DividendDreamer

Leave a Reply

