Christmas Present

image

When I was a kid, I could remember looking through the Sears catalog and picking out the one toy that I just could not wait to get for Christmas. This was my yearly ritual. I would stare at it all day and compare specs against other models and imagine all the fun I would have with my new toys. Those days when I waited to receive the toy I chose are now long gone, but I still happen to have the same reactions toward my investments.

     I cannot tell you how many nights I have dreamed how it will be when I see my dividend increase for my GE stock. My mind goes through all the possibilities- 1, 2 — 3 cents per share. Wow! Lots of possibilities. I see the numbers start crunching in my head, and I feel happy no matter which way it goes. However, I do want the big increase. I look at how many more shares my dividend will buy and how many shares those shares will add to the stash.

image

     Christmas sure is a good time of the year, and as an adult, my presents come from being with my family and seeing my investments increase through dividend growth. Those dividends are really the gift that keeps on giving. As the time nears for the inevitable increase, I have become ever so curious. I keep checking the latest posts, seeing if anything is being said that is either good or bad. I feel like Santa Clause with all this checking it twice stuff. But, when I think about it, that is half the fun. I get to feel the excitement anytime I desire. What will I see when I press the button on that particular article. Will it be the thing I have dreamed of for so long and imagined so vividly, or will I be somewhat disappointed like when we get one of those aweful sweaters that we never seem to wear.

image

     In the vast scheme of things, Christmas is a time to celebrate Jesus’ birth (which sometimes gets lost in the season), but Christmas should also be viewed as a time to give thanks and to enjoy being with family and friends. It should be a time to remember just how lucky we are to live in a country that allows us to be free individuals. It should be a time to pray for peace and happiness in the world. I happen to appreciate all those things, and I truly wish happiness to everyone. So, to all who are waiting for the same present that I am waiting for, I hope Santa Clause treats you well. To all who are in need of a little more happiness or peace, I hope your wishes are answered. This time of year is special, and it should be special for every individual in their own way. May all of you have a wonderful and prosperous Christmas and New Year.

As always,

Keep cranking,

Robert the DividendDreamer

    

About dividenddreamer

Doing what I can to make the best of today and the most of tomorrow.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Christmas Present

  1. My family had a model train and it was a family favorite.

  2. Tawcan says:

    “It should be a time to remember just how lucky we are to live in a country that allows us to be free individuals. It should be a time to pray for peace and happiness in the world. ”

    Can’t say it better. We’re lucky to be living in developed countries like the US and Canada and not in some war-torn countries. We should be appreciative of that and enjoy quality times with family and friends.

Leave a Reply

