Just Do It!

image

    
Update:

Well, today I bought 983 shares of T . I had my limit order set for $34.19 and it hit quite early on in the day. I did not get the low, but I am in at a better price than I was in last week. I have 10 more shares and will receive $18.88 more in annual dividend income if I do not sell.

Who knows what is going to happen, but I have more shares and more potential income.

I also picked up 26 shares of T in another account in my Roth in an attempt to get my share count to a round lot. Also, 8 shares of GE spread out as reinvestment in other acounts.

What do you think? Any thoughts?

Keep cranking,

Robert the DividendDreamer

My shares of KMP in the trading IRA were sold off last week. I took the cash in the account that I am trading and added with the KMP cash, and I bought 851 shares of T at $34.23 this afternoon. I placed a limit order for 851 shares at $34.28, and it was filled at $34.23-better than I expected.

     A few weeks back, I was reading a post by Tawcan. He mentioned about quibbling over pennies and such when initiating a position. It happened to me last week. Last week, before I left for Gatlinburg, I placed a limit order for T at $34.30. I had no time to hang out and change prices, so I missed the purchase because the ask price never hit $34.30, only the bid. The price rose after that and went to $35.48 while I was on vacation. That was a big miss on my part, but that is how it goes.

     Although I did not win on that trade last week, I did not lose anything. The market tends to move up and down all the time. This morning, the price dropped tremendously, below where I was to buy it last week, so I went with it. Right or wrong? I do not know. I think the Sprint news about 1/2 off to AT&T and Verizon customers was the kicker.  I will say, all the people who had Sprint on the trip had very little signal over in Gatlinburg. In the big cities, Sprint’s signal is probably great, but in outlying areas, it might not be so spectacular.

     Regardless, I feel T is still a solid investment and trade vehicle. It has been pretty much range bound (good for trading) for quite a while, but it pays a hefty dividend (good for investment-in my opinion). Well, we will see how it goes as the week progresses.

    I have had a 103 degree fever since the last day of my trip and have been feeling under the weather, but I feel better this afternoon- maybe because of this purchase.  Regardless of whether it is a good trade, it will be a good addition to my dividend total if the trade goes south.  I will let you know.

Keep cranking,

Robert the DividendDreamer

About dividenddreamer

Doing what I can to make the best of today and the most of tomorrow.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Just Do It!

  1. What made you decide to sell KMP?

    • Good question. It was going to cost me $25 for each account to be reorganized. I just sold off for 7 bucks. Now, I have cash in most of the accounts. I use the cash in the trading account to buy AT&T.
      We’ll see how it goes.

      Keep cranking,

      Robert the DividendDreamer

  2. DivHut says:

    Your title says it all. Sometimes you just have to go for it and not fuss over pennies or a dollar. When investing for longer time periods it really won’t matter. The key is to just get into the game. I know T and VZ are both popular names among many DGI bloggers and those yields are very tempting too. Good luck with this new buy and thanks for sharing.

  3. roadmap2retire says:

    T is a solid investment and great for current income.

    Best wishes
    R2R

    • The income can really add up that is for sure. If the price stays depressed, I am looking for a small increase in the dividend in the next few weeks. Thanks for dropping by.

      Keep cranking,

      Robert the DividendDreamer

  4. Huge buy! I like T and would love to eventually initiate a position. The dividend yield is super nice. I’ve been adding VZ on a monthly basis through direct investment, but will look to branch off to T eventually.

    Hopefully you are getting back to full health! I had a terrible cold the past few weeks that I swear was the worst one I ever had.

    • I am feeling better, but now everyone in the family is sick. The doctor says it is the flu. Luckily it happened after we finished with all the vacation and football stuff.
      Hopefully T treats me as well as it has been in the past. The new purchase is in my trading account, so any increases in value will have to be taken so as to follow my strategy. If the stock stays south, the dividend will do just fine. Thanks for stopping by and good luck.

      Keep cranking,

      Robert the DividendDreamer

Leave a Reply

