Article: The Science Of Why You Should Spend Your Money On Experiences, Not Things

The Science Of Why You Should Spend Your Money On Experiences, Not Things

http://www.fastcoexist.com/3043858/world-changing-ideas/the-science-of-why-you-should-spend-your-money-on-experiences-not-thing?partner=rss

image

This article seems to fly in the same direction that I am in regards to money and happiness. As I read the article, my thoughts on the matter come completely in focus. I can see myself travelling to Disney World or the Junior Olympics and a smile instantly crosses my face. I fully believe that increases in wealth can, and do, lead to an increased quality of life, which in turn can lead to increased happiness.

This article states things that I have, through my own self indulgence, found out first hand. I have lots of “things” that I thought would bring me happiness, but they have faded to the sidelines. With that in mind, I have a host of memories that were made from travelling and experiencing life that will live with me forever. It is absolutely amazing how I “see” what the author says. I see how experiences are so much more important. I consider the Grand Canyon as an experience, and it will live with me forever. I do have certain “things” in my life that bring me happiness. My HT, for instance, is called The Experience, because you have to actually experience it to believe it. I get the same feeling every time I go into the room. Maybe it is because so much of what is in there was built by my hands. Maybe, my dad’s spirit is present for me because we spent so much time building the house and everything in it. For me, no matter what the explanation is, a certain amount of money was needed to fund those experiences.

I would like to find more research regarding this matter. It seems that the researcher has decades of research into the subject. With so much time invested (no pun intended), he certainly must have a grasp on the effects of money and happiness. The results may not be able to be applied to everyone, but if the results can explain the effect of money and happiness when applied to the population as a whole, the implications could be game changing.

Keep cranking,

Robert the DividendDreamer

About dividenddreamer

Doing what I can to make the best of today and the most of tomorrow.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

