It Takes a Thief

To go along with all the issues with my rental properties, I have been the victim of theft lately. About 3 weeks ago monday, some of my best weedeater and blowers were stolen right out of my yard at night.

I heard something about 3:30 in the morning, but because I was really tired that night I did not get up. I thought it might have been a bed spring pop when I turned because it happened just the night before, so I just went back to sleep. The next morning, I went to get started and something was missing. I figured I put it somewhere else, but when I looked around more for the other new stuff, it was gone too. I was pretty angry but the full scope was not realized until I looked for other stuff as the days went on. Now, I have to lock things away and lock gates and garages. We have never had to lock things like this around my home before, but I guess times have changed.

So, now, what used to take me a few minutes to get going requires about 30 minutes at the beginning of the day and 30 minutes at the end.

I really can’t stand having to unload my trailer and load it every day and night, but I can’t afford to lose thousands of dollars of equipment at a time. Just another issue that has to be dealt with at this time.

The worst part is that it was done at my house right outside, and that is the worst. I do not know if it was a goofball in the neighborhood or a passerby. One thing for sure is that they know where I am and they know where my stuff is located. It has been keeping up at night and I jump at any noise now. I am kind of glad that I did not catch whoever did it because I could have lost much more than just equipment.

I guess I should have installed some cameras, but either way, I feel that good hard working people should not be subjected to things like this. They say that crime is rampant in our city, and I guess whoever they are, they are right.

I have accepted the loss, but knowing that they were in my yard makes me feel uneasy- very uneasy. However, I have to let it go. It is just another layer on my pile, so I am just dealing with it.

It makes no sense to buy anything new just so that some idiot can come shopping in my yard. So, I am working with old junk that barely works. It is a pain, but the shiny new stuff is like a magnet and that is the stuff they seemed to go after. Lately, I look at every lawn guy with a little suspicion.

Anyhow, the theft along with the rental property issues have really put a damper on my blogging. I felt that I was not doing quite as rosey as most bloggers seem to be, so I just came home and went to sleep and did the same thing each day.

I feel that the last post and this one is like a good cleansing. I feel better already. Not perfect, but better. I know my property will never be much more than a possible rental, and my equipment is going to continue to slide downhill, but I have the best kids in the world and a wonderful wife. They have been by my side all the way. My wife sent me this picture one day when I was feeling exceptionally bad.

image

It made all the difference in the world. I know how that guy feels, and having someone by your side is an extremely powerful medicine. My kids rely on me to provide for them, so I must do my best to fend off the obstacles in my way. I truly am a lucky guy to have such a wonderful family, and they are the reason I get up every day.

Well, it is getting late, and I am really tired. Tomorrow is another day, and I plan to make the best of it. The stock market has been doing what it does, and I expect that to continue until late October/November. Hopefully, we get a nice Christmas rally.

Good luck to all,

Keep cranking,

Robert the DividendDreamer

Seeking Dividends
AKA — DividendDreamer

About dividenddreamer

Doing what I can to make the best of today and the most of tomorrow.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to It Takes a Thief

  1. Vivianne says:

    I hired a guy one time, and he sent me away to buy stuff from Lowes, while he and his buddy staged my house to come back the next day to rob me. He was calling me from my house making sure nobody was there. I was lucky that he didn’t come when I was there, he could have harmed me. I have to think twice about hire anybody nowadays. It isn’t the same.

    • I have been quite busy lately and have not been keeping up. Sorry to hear about your run in. It seems some of these so called contractors are not very trustworthy. I won’t be hiring anyone anytime soon. Good luck.

  2. DivGuy says:

    What to say… Really hope it gets better. You’re right though, at least you have what truly matters.
    Cheers,
    Mike

Leave a Reply

