RIP Keith Emerson

Check out @APEntertainment’s Tweet: https://twitter.com/APEntertainment/status/708430907741331456?s=09

2016 has dealt a serious blow to the music world. David Bowie, Glenn Frey, Maurice White, Denise Matthews, Paul Kantner, Sir George Martin, and now, Keith Emerson. Wow, I can remember the first time I heard “Lucky Man.” That song is such a haunting tune, and as a child, I was gripped by the marching rhythm of Carl Palmer’s drums and the other worldly sound of Emerson’s Moog synthesizer. I can’t say how many times I heard that song, but I can say that each time I heard it, my soul was moved- It is that compelling! Fanfare for the Common Man, Karn Evil 9, From the Beginning, Tarsus and Tocatta are but a few of the magnificent musical works that ELP left for us to enjoy.  I was lucky to see ELP perform and, although that may never happen again, I hope to see Carl Palmer when Asia is in the neighborhood.

Keith Emerson was a big part of my youth, although I really did not view him as an individual, but part of the group, at the time. I learned to appreciate his abilities as an individual performer and composer as I grew older. The preliminary results of the investigation show that his death was the result of suicide. I was shocked to hear that. I guess it is hard to understand why a man, who is so talented and respected by so many people, can resort to such drastic measures. The answer is that depression does not discriminate, it does not show favoritism and it can cause the downfall of the most heroic warrior.  It is hard to get my head around how he could have felt so alone and in such despair, but with almost 34,000 suicides per year in the United States, it comes into greater focus.

I have known a few people who have taken their own lives, and for each one of them, I asked myself how could they have felt so alone with all those people around. The pain of depression, perceived loss or disappointment is one hell of an anchor, and some people choose to eliminate the pain in the only way they see fit. I guess that is why we should tell our family and friends how important they are in our lives and listen to them and talk with them as often as possible. That being said, I can easily say that this is truly a sad day for me.

I quess I started this blog with the intention to write about all the great things that are happening to me every day, however, nobody only has great things that happen in their lives. Afterall, it is called LIFE- not greatness. In life, there will be ups and downs, and the road will be fraught with potholes and pitfalls. It will also be filled with winning moments and successes of untold dimensions. I guess that is what makes life so interesting. Believe me, I have dreams of the good life- yachts, hotels, trips, fine dining and exotic cars and mansions. However, those are dreams, and I truly just want to be able raise my children and enjoy my life.

When I read about the death of someone who went to school with me or a famous musician such as Keith Emerson, it makes me wonder if they got to do what they truly wanted in their lives. I can imagine that Emerson did get that opportunity, but maybe, things just became too much for him to handle. We may never know. In the end, all that mattered was how he felt and how he handled those feelings. He chose to end his life as he did, and he is now, here no more. I am sure his loved ones are filled with sorrow, but I also hope they find solace in the beautiful music he left behind and all the good times that they had together.

Farewell Keith Emerson, you will be missed!

Keep cranking,

Robert the DividendDreamer
AKA — Seeking Dividends

Follow me on Twitter– Seeking Dividends@DividendDreamer

Seeking Dividends
AKA — DividendDreamer

About dividenddreamer

Doing what I can to make the best of today and the most of tomorrow.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

