Watch “9-11-01 – In Memorium – Fanfare for the Common Man” on YouTube

Looking back, it seems like so long ago, but at the same time, it feels like yesterday. As I watched this video, all the feelings came rushing back. Feelings of sorrow, pain, fear, regret, joy, love, herosim- all at once.

To see the utter loss of all the people who were killed that day echos sorrow in every way. In addition, the pain of the loss for all the family members is hard to imagine. Fear of what is yet to possibly come, and the regret for not being able to prevent the inevitable is in every way present. However, the joy of life, the love for our fellow man and the herosim of the common man become evident in every way.

Aaron Copeland’s “Fanfare for the Common Man” is perfect in every way. It represents the true goodness in man. There could not be a better tribute to all those who gave all they had on one of this country’s most devastating days. I came upon this tribute because I was going through Emerson Lake and Palmer’s version of Fanfare and I decided to go back and see how Copeland arranged the performance. After watching Copeland’s performance, I saw the tribute and 9/11 came rushing back. I remember that day so very well, but most of the following days were kind of a blur. This video allowed me to revisit 9/11, but I saw a lot more than just the destruction and death, I saw the resilience of the human spirit.

I guess, sometimes, our lives seem so very complicated and tumultuous, but looking back onto experiences like this, we should realize that our day to day lives are not so hectic afterall. Each and every person who was at ground zero, as well as watching on some screen around the world, was touched in some way that day.

In my heart, I know that a few people were looking on and feeling like there plan succeeded, but I believe that the vast majority of the world’s population looked on with sympathy and sadness about the tragic events they were witnessing. I do believe that most people are truly good at heart and will help his or her fellow human being.

Take some time this weekend and watch this video. I feel it is worth every second. Sit quietly and just soak it all in, and above all, do not be afraid to crank the volume.

Let me what you think.

Keep cranking,

Robert the DividendDreamer
AKA — Seeking Dividends

Follow me on Twitter– Seeking Dividends@DividendDreamer

Seeking Dividends
AKA — DividendDreamer

About dividenddreamer

Doing what I can to make the best of today and the most of tomorrow.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

