Just Got Ripped Off

Well, it does not  get any better lately. Someone just stole my brand new backpack blower, so I went home. I called about my friend this morning, and they said nothing has changed. Another friend of mine just called me and said his my friend’s dad is going to make a decision tomorrow. Man, when it rains- it pours!

I guess there is nothing that can be done about things such as heart attacks, thefts, sickness, or just plain old incidents of bad luck. I guess it just has to run its course. Any other time, I would be very annoyed about my blower being stolen. However, I am very worried about my friend in the hospital. At the moment, that is really all that matters. So, once I saw the blower gone, I decided to come home and get cleaned up and go visit him.

I have been very weighed down in the past few years because of all the deaths of those close to me and my family. Most of those deaths were people who were very young. A cousin who was still in high school, just passed away without any signs of sickness. He went to sleep and never woke up.  My nephew was 27, and he died in a motorcycle accident. Another was a good friend who died of Meningitis at 38. One day she was here, and the next she was gone. Yet another was my wife’s sister, and she died one month after my father at 40 years old of lung cancer. It was not really far gone, however the tumor was in her esophagus, and it closed her airway off before the doctor’s could treat her. Once the treatment started, the tumor shrunk, but she was in a coma when it closed her airway and then she developed pneumonia and did not pull out. All of these deaths were young people who used to visit my home and enjoy times with my family weekly. How those times have changed.

Add in the death of my father, 3 aunts, and a few cousins, and in the past 3 years, our family and way of life has been decimated. We still have our Friday night hang outs, but they are far from what they used to be. Although there are some new participants (friends who have been friends for decades and now are coming back to the fold), the number of people has shrunk drastically in the past 3 years.

Looking back at all the good times we had with all those people brings back some amazing memories. It seems that the atmosphere is a bit more subdued, and not quite so raucous as it once was. It seems that each week, we end up telling stories like it was the first time they were told, although the stories have been rehashed inumerable times. Each time, the same laughs persist, and the same interjections come back to emphasize what happened.

Times are definitely getting tough, and the circle of friends is getting ever smaller. New friends are very rare, and I can’t really say we have many that have been added to the fold. But, we have had some very good people come into our group, and we are lucky to have them. They are as close to us as those who have known us our whole lives, and we are lucky to have such a close knit circle of friends.

I hope we can get together this weekend and celebrate the good times and enjoy each other’s company. I hope my friend, who is in the ICU, makes some progress in the coming days. I hope that all of my friends enjoy happiness and fulfilment in their lives, and I wish for continued success in all of their endeavors.

Well, this started out dealing with me being agitated about a new backpack blower being stolen from me a few hours ago, however, as I was writing, I soon forgot all about that trivial nonsense. I got to thinking about family and friends and about what is truly important. I guess the things that are truly important will always make there way to the forfront, and all the trivial nonsense will just fade away. In our day to day lives there seems to be quite a lot of trivial nonsense that fills our waking moments.

I am now going to get cleaned up and go visit my friend.

Any thoughts would be greatly appreciated. Feel free to post even if you just want to get something off your chest.

Keep cranking,

Robert the DividendDreamer
AKA — Seeking Dividends

Follow me on Twitter– Seeking Dividends@DividendDreamer

Seeking Dividends
AKA — DividendDreamer

About dividenddreamer

Doing what I can to make the best of today and the most of tomorrow.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Just Got Ripped Off

  1. Looks like you are having a real stormy period. I wish you all the best.
    In our Family, We have had some bad news as well. Never fun. I also do hope we can soon enjoy again some quality time. I booked already a fun slot with my god child end of April. We both look forward to that.

Leave a Reply

